Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
itsmadmax

pine straw instead of pine bark fines?

itsmadmax
9 years ago

Dear folks
According to the 5-1-1 mix I should use pine bark fines but I am on a remote island in the Bahamas and can not find any1 that ships a few bags over.
And if they do it cost a fortune.

BUT!
Our island has the Casuarina Pine tree. And with that said, I have tons and tons of fallen straws everywhere I could rake easily.

BUT... could that be a substitute for the pine bark fines to make my soil mix with perlite and Spagnum peat?

Here is a link that might be useful: Tree leaves

Comments (12)

• itsmadmax
    Original Author
    9 years ago

Thanks
    I just found some articles and what I understand is that the older they are the better it is but it's not a 100% replacement for bark as I understand
    We try and will see what happens :)
    I am new to this all and learning from mistakes is never bad hehe

• greenman28 NorCal 7b/8a
    9 years ago

Pine needles are not a good substitute for bark. Fine as a mulch, but not to be mixed into the potting media itself.

Josh

• tsugajunkie z5 SE WI ♱
    9 years ago

You would be better off trying to use the scales from the pine cones if possible. The drier the better.

tj

• itsmadmax
    Original Author
    9 years ago

hmmm.. why do I always have plenty of suppy of things I cant use haha.

You meen the round balls that fall off. Hmmm.. (sorry I am Dutch forgive me my English)

• tsugajunkie z5 SE WI ♱
    9 years ago

Yes, the round balls that fall off. Just realized how small those cones really are so you might get by using them whole. How much do you need? Some bark is often lying around under pines.

tj

Edit:
    Egad, that really isn't a pine and the needles aren't even true needles. Lignin is the key to true pine bark as it slows decomposition, not sure of the lignin content in Casuarina.

This post was edited by tsugajunkie on Tue, Jan 13, 15 at 18:48

• itsmadmax
    Original Author
    9 years ago