Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
a1234qwer

Basic container gardening questions

a1234qwer
9 years ago

I have no experience gardening and want to start growing vegetables in a 5 gallon bucket or two. I want to go organic all the way. I bought a DVD titled "3-D Barrel Gardening" from easiestgarden.com that explains a lot of what I need to know.

I'm not a picky eater, so I'm mostly interested in variety. What would be the best veggies to grow for a beginner?

I would like to grow from seeds because I don't like the waste and expense of buying plantings. What is a good source for buying organic seeds?

I process my food scraps with bokashi, so I will have as much bokashi tea as I need for fertilizing.

Which organic potting mix should I get? My local health food store sells G&B brand potting mix which I've read is good. Thanks for any replies.

Comments (6)

• oxboy555
    9 years ago

Dilute that bokashi tea or you'll burn a hole straight to the center of the earth like alien blood.

• drew51 SE MI Z5b/6a
    9 years ago

Most of the people in this forum do not grow organically. I try to as much as possible, but it is inadequate for many applications. Lot's of places sell organic seeds. Each nursery has unique items, so their are dozens to choose from. I'm not sure all these are organic, I think so, but I don't buy organic seeds, they jack the price up, and I don't care. Also what vegetables do you plan on growing? As we have many specialty nurseries too.
    Growing from seed is an art form, you need lot's of supplies too, germination trays, heating mats, thermostats, plant lights, etc. So lot's of cash is good!
    It's expensive to grow from seed. Also when you say totally organic, OK, organic seeds, organic soil, organic fertilizer, then grow in a plastic pot? Really?
    Well try root pouches, not sure if organic? But man they are great! Buy them and many of your supplies at the Greenhouse megastore. Google these names, too many to list URL's.