Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
oberci

Screening Gritty Mix

oberci
11 years ago

Hi all, this is my first time prepping gritty mix and I want to make sure I am doing it correctly.

Here is the smallest fir bark I found:
{{gwi:2420}} {{gwi:2421}}

Here is a picture of the screened bark:

Screened with 1/4" screen ("the larger particles"):
{{gwi:2422}}

All that fell through with super fine particles not yet sifted out ("the smaller particles"):
{{gwi:2423}}

It seems there are many small particles in my "larger particles" picture which would be suitable for the mix, but they just are not falling through the 1/4" screen because they aren't uniformly that size and thus remain on top. I feel like I'm sending a lot of good material to waste. Should I use a larger screen for the extremely large pieces, sift out the fine particles and just keep the rest?

For reference, I have 10 cups of the "larger particles" and 4 cups of the "smaller particles". So more than 2/3 of each bag will be going to waste if I continue this way. Please let me know your thoughts on the size of the small bits within the "larger particles". Meanwhile, I'll go run that batch through a larger sifter and repost some pictures to this thread.

Comments (6)

• Vance Evans
    11 years ago

Here's something that might help you. I think the fines that are less than 1/8' should be sifted out as well.

Here is a link that might be useful: Gritty Mix

• greenman28 NorCal 7b/8a
    11 years ago

That's the bark that I use, as well.
    It is wonderful stuff. It certainly goes further when making 5-1-1.

How are you screening it?

Josh

• oberci
    Original Author
    11 years ago