Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
mlavore

Getting Started (Newbie)

MLavore
10 years ago

Hello All,

I am new to container gardening and will be going with Al's 5-1-1 mix. I have a few questions :)

1. After making the 5-1-1 mix the soil should be left so the lime can go through a reactive phase, does the soil need to be wet or dry during this time?

2. What is the ideal size for the pine bark fines? I have heard 1/8", 1/4" and 3/8"

Comments (7)

• Ernie
    10 years ago

1. The mix should be wet/damp. That being said, it's not essential that you wait before planting.
    2. Having a uniform particle size is more important in the gritty mix (turface/granite/bark) than in the 5-1-1 mix. For the latter, look for aged bark fines with a spectrum of particle sizes from very fine up to 1/2" (or even a bit larger).

• Loveplants2 8b Virginia Beach, Virginia
    10 years ago

Hi MLavore,

Good questions... ;-)

I and others like to wait a few days after making the 5-1-1 with the lime before potting up. If you use a fertilizer that gives the essential nutrients, then some leave out the lime and or gypsum . If you did pot up after mixing, I wouldn't worry, but we do like to give it a few days before we use. Some wait 5 days. I don't moisten my 5-1-1 before I mix. I do moisten the gritty to keep it separated a little more when mixing.

The 5-1-1 calls for dust to 3/8. Here is a copy from Al's post.

Hope this helps!

Laura

The basic soils I use ....

The 5:1:1 mix:

5 parts pine bark fines, dust - 3/8 (size is important
    1 part sphagnum peat (not reed or sedge peat please)
    1-2 parts perlite (coarse, if you can get it)
    garden lime (or gypsum in some cases)
    controlled release fertilizer (if preferred)

Big batch:
    2-3 cu ft pine bark fines
    5 gallons peat
    5 gallons perlite
    2 cups dolomitic (garden) lime (or gypsum in some cases)
    2 cups CRF (if preferred)

Small batch:
    3 gallons pine bark
    1/2 gallon peat
    1/2 gallon perlite