Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
winstella

Built my own wooden container today

winstella
10 years ago

Built a 4ft long x 2ft wide x ~1.5ft deep wooden planter today for my concrete backyard because I was tired of never having enough containers. Added basil, rosemary, red lettuce and sowed a variety of other lettuce seeds today.

Total project cost little less than $20 using cedar wood.

I just started gardening about a month ago and this is my first time working with a drill too haha. Very satisfying, and pretty easy.

Question: I live in Los Angeles, it's quite warm here. What other plants should I add in? Any that I should avoid with my current mix??

ALSO, potting mix to fill it cost much more than the container itself. Just found out that the city of LA gives compost and mulch away for free... Do you think I can fill a container with compost alone for tomatoes and such?

This post was edited by winstella on Sun, Jan 26, 14 at 21:27

Comments (10)

• oxboy555
    10 years ago

Well done.

Some thoughts:
    - be careful of staining your concrete
    - it looks like water can seep through? That's important.
    - can you move it if you have to? Another recent planter builder put big sturdy casters on the bottom of his.
    - how long before the water/elements rot it? What's the life expectancy of this container?
    - basil and rosemary are not good in the same container. Different watering, spacing and soil requirements. You should research which herbs work well grown together.
    - straight compost is not a good idea at all for containers.

I would recommend you read the long educational threads created by Al Tapla on this forum. Good luck!

• winstella
    Original Author
    10 years ago

Yes, I think the concrete will definitely stain... oh well, what can I do? I wish there were no concrete to begin with!