Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
hebertju56

Close trees in containers

Hi everyone,
Last summer I built a container garden on my terrace. I'm on the third floor in Canadian Zone 5, so when I'm prudent I plant Zone 3 and below. I have large containers (2 x 2 x 4 feet) in which I have planted some trees. But I might have place for more. I want to know if there is a limit to how close I can plant 2 trees in different containers. I have an elaeagnus angustifolia in one and would like to plant a carpinus caroliniana in the container next to it. The trunks would be about 3-4 feet apart. Do any of you see a problem to this? Keeping in mind that in my climate and in containers the trees stay pretty small (plus I'm planning regular repotting and root pruning). Thanks for any input!

Comments (6)

• Cliff Pruitt
    9 years ago

I'm still very new to this so take this answer for what it's worth, but I think that your answer ultimately depends on what you mean by "limit". In nature trees will grow extremely close together and grow successfully. Whether or not the trees themselves consider this to be "ideal" may be another matter. In your case, the trees would not be competing for water or nutrient resources, but if they are close enough they may compete for light. I'm new enough at this to not know specifically how this would effect your situation, but I imagine that as the trees grew they would tend to grow more on the "open" sides while being more restricted where their branches started to come into contact with each other. If light is scarce and one blocks the other out entirely, you might find that one of them grows poorly.

If I am understanding you correctly, you want to plant new trees in new, separate containers. If that is the case, I think that you at least have the luxury of moving the containers farther apart in the future without re-potting if you feel it's necessary. That is, assuming you have the space to move the containers.