Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
tombob_gw

Orange tree in container

tombob
18 years ago

I am a newbie to this forum, so if my question is basic or has been covered a million times, please understand or shunt me to the proper thread.

I have an orange tree in a five gallon container that has done well ever since it was a seedling. My mother-in-law, now deceased, gave it to one of my kids. She had started it from an orange seed in a styrofoam cup about ten years ago. I have moved it into progressively larger contaners over the years and it survived on our deck in the warmer months here in zone 6 and we moved it to a sunny indoor location in the winter. It is about 5'6" tall at this point.

As I approach retirement, I have decided to pursue container gardening and bonsai as a hobby, things I have always wanted to do. Reading about soil mixes has made me realize my mistake of using potting mixes for this orange tree. I want to repot it--into the same size container because I do not want the tree to get any larger.

What soil mix woudl be good for this tree? Any advice is welcome.

Thank you.

Comments (4)

• tapla (mid-Michigan, USDA z5b-6a)
    18 years ago

First, to keep the tree from getting larger, you need to learn how to slow it down through a combination of culture and pruning, pruning both above and below soil line. It's not at all uncommon in bonsai to take a tree, 15 ft or larger and reduce it to 6 inches & start a complete makeover of the tree, so once you get the tree repotted & growing with something close to its potential genetic vigor, many pruning possibilities will present themselves, especially after an o/a hard pruning, which will force new branching all over the tree.