Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
rooster_family

Shredded Cedar Al's Mix

rooster_family
14 years ago

New Member and a Total Newbie. Attempted my first vegetable garden last year with miserable results. So bad my usually very encouraging wife wanted me to take up a new hobby. I have done my best to educate myself and this forum has been a great resource.

Question: Like others I have had trouble finding pine or fir bark fines for Al's mix

I have found shredded cedar. Is that an acceptable substitute? What are the cons of using shredded cedar?

thx,

Eric

Comments (25)

• badsmerf
    14 years ago

There has been questions about this in the past if you do some meticulous searching. I know it is pretty undesirable to use cedar, especially the actual wood. You will have to wait for Al or someone else to provide the science behind it. Once spring rolls around it will be easier to find this stuff.

• jojosplants
    14 years ago

Hi Eric!
    It is so nice to meet someone else here in Tucson! Welcome neighbor. :)

I too have heard that the cedar isnt that great.

Am also in the process of learning what is behind Al's mixes. :)

I found pine bark fines and turface at a local John Deere dealer on Ina Road.

I will get the information and post some pictures here a little later today.

I think it's great your giving Al's mixes a try and another year of gardening...;)

I too have had endless plants fail in containers here, so will be trying Als this year, I have read so many good things and seen so many pictures!

I will be back a little later.

JoJo

• tapla (mid-Michigan, USDA z5b-6a)
    14 years ago

I haven't used cedar mulch to grow in, so I can't comment on that practice directly, but I can say that because the tannins, as well as terpenoid and phenolic compounds cedar is rich in are known to be allelopathic (inhibit growth) to many other plants, I have discounted the likelihood that it would be a suitable choice for me.

Al

• rooster_family
    Original Author