Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
smiles317_gw

Garlic in containers?

smiles317
18 years ago

I was just reading a bunch of bulletins in the Allium forum, and I could not find one on growing garlic in containers. I was just thinking of planting one small clove in a decent size container on my balcony just to see what happened (and the flowers are pretty). Would this work? I face NE, and am on the top floor so I get decent light.

Comments (12)

• luv2gro
    18 years ago

I started 18 cloves in January in a long deckrail planter. They have all sprouted very nicely (about 10" high) and seem to be establishing themselves very well in the bulb area. If they just sit there by May, I will plant them into the garden.

This was just an experiment for me, too. I've never tried garlic in a planter before. Any advice from someone that has would be really appreciated.

Shauna

• VGtar
    18 years ago

I planted five cloves last spring, with my Japanese Maple. They weren't really all that decorative, I have to say. I used one of them in December, when I needed garlic for a lentil-soup. It hadn't had time enough to produce new cloves (that takes two seasons), but was simply one big clove... tasty though. I noticed that they had sprouted in January, and we still have snow now, so I doubt they'll come around again this summer...
    But I think it's worth a try.

• girlndocs
    18 years ago

If nothing else, tender garlic sprouts make good greens: like chives, but garlicky. I think they have to get quite tall to bloom, and would need staking.

• geol
    18 years ago