Return to the Container Gardening Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Container fruiting plants for Southern California

Posted by Moosetrackz 9 (My Page) on
Tue, Feb 28, 12 at 19:49

Hello!
I also posted in the Orchard forum but it is also a container planting question.

I'm new to growing fruiting trees. I recently got a kumquat tree (nagami I think). I was told it would do ok in my small west facing yard. It gets about 4-5 hours of direct sun and seems to be doing fine and is fruiting.

I was wondering if their are any other fruiting trees or berries that do well with my western exposure situation. I live in southern California in LA county so its pretty warm here. It'll be near 80 everyday soon and was 103 a few days last year. The tree will have to be in a container because I cant plant anything in the ground in my small apartment yard.

Thanks!

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Container fruiting plants for Southern California

The Nagami kumquat is a good container plant. I hope so! I bought one last month. They grow actively in high heat, but need nighttime chill for good color and flavor.

Here is a link that might be useful: What's Growing On?

o

• Posted by cebury 9, Central CA (My Page) on
    Wed, Feb 29, 12 at 14:51

many fruit trees will do well containers on the west facing side, but will also need protection from the hot summer sun with shade cloth for many years until a fuller canopy develops. the pot itself should always be shaded in our summer climate to avoid overheating roots. you'll need a larger sized container if you expect to hold a decent Amt of fruit. I've nectarines , citrus, cherry and blueberries both standard & dwarf stock in containers.