Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
dannierose

Strawberries in a pot

dannierose
10 years ago

I am a gardening newbie and I just bought a Bonnie peat moss pot of Ozark Beauty Strawberries. I'm kind of regretting my decision though because I didn't do my research beforehand and most of the articles I'm finding online on how to grow strawberries are about buying the crowns/roots in a bag and placing them individually in a strawberry pot (which I didn't know existed lol). I thought I could just place the peat moss pot in a regular plastic pot and it would grow just fine, then I read about the runners, etc. and how the plant expands very quickly. The reason I chose not to plant them in my flowerbed is because we have a lot of birds, squirrels, and opossums in our area that I know would find the strawberries and eat them so I wanted to be able to take the pot indoors. So does anyone have any advice on how I can salvage my decision? haha I just don't want to have to return the plant

Comments (6)

• dannierose
    Original Author
    10 years ago

Thanks so much for your advice! :)
    I got some bigger pots and they seem to be doing better now. I also pinched off a few of the flowers because I read somewhere that that would make the plant produce more strawberries so hopefully I didn't hurt it haha

• dowlinggram
    10 years ago

I've grown the Ozark beauty and if I remember right they are a mid season producer and not an everbearing.variety.
    The only reason I'm not doing it now is it's too much up and down for these old bones

Pinching off the blossoms is just cutting down on the strawberries you are going to get. Pinching off blossoms will make the plant get bigger but it won't produce more strawberries.