Return to the Container Gardening Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Back again with tomato questions

Posted by rakin 7b (My Page) on
Mon, Mar 31, 14 at 12:24

I am growing bush steak and Roma tomatoes. I had originally planned to pot the Roma's in 10 gallon pots and put the bushsteak in my raised garden. Right now they are all in 8" pots and looking great. But they will need to be transplanted before my raised bed will be ready for them. I have a 24"x19" container. I am calculating that to be a little over 35 gallons. (It once held a savannah holly, so it is pretty big). Anyway, how many of the bushsteaks can I realistically plant in this one container? They are suppose to only get about 24" high, but this is my first time with vegetables so I don't know how accurate that will be.

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Back again with tomato questions

Need to know all 3 dimensions -- what's the depth?

o

Sorry, I wasn't clear. It is 24 " round and 19" deep.

o

Get yourself a big indeterminate variety like Sungold and a tall cage and you can have tomatoes all summer. Don't waste that big honking pot on a dinky determinate. Go big!

o

It is 24 " round and 19" deep.

&&&&&&&&&&&&&&

You can plant 3 bush type in that pot, each getting about 8 -10 gallons of soil per plant (depending how much you fill it) . That is plenty of soil. You will need to manage the top by staking. If you want to be VERY conservative, Plant 2 of them.(15 gallons per plant)

This post was edited by seysonn on Wed, Apr 2, 14 at 12:24

o Post a Follow-Up

Please Note: Only registered members are able to post messages to this forum.

If you are a member, please log in.

If you aren't yet a member, join now!

Return to the Container Gardening Forum

Information about Posting

• You must be logged in to post a message. Once you are logged in, a posting window will appear at the bottom of the messages. If you are not a member, please register for an account.
  • Please review our Rules of Play before posting.