Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
coralreef_gw

Vegetable container garden from seeds?

coralreef
12 years ago

I'm a newbie, and I haven't been able to find this answer through the search or browsing, sorry! I've read tons of info about what type of soil/mix to do my container plants in. (I'm thinking 5:1:1 is probably best?) But I haven't read anything about starting from seeds while using these mixes. I've done "regular" gardening before in Utah, but never container gardening, and never had a successful garden here in NC. We don't have any yard this year, only our patio, and I'm really hoping to grow some fresh veggies out there.

We ordered seeds and some seedlings from Gurneys (had good luck with them in the past), and the first delivery should arrive this week. We're getting lettuce, zucchini (I know this will be HUGE), sweet peppers (we're REALLY hoping these work!), and spinach seeds. We're also getting red onion bulbs, 2-year asparagus shoots, and 1-year strawberry plants. For our 3 year old daughter, I also ordered sunflowers and a "magic carpet mix" of flowers so she can have her own pots to take care of (hopefully) without damaging our vegetables. We still have green bean, snap peas, and cucumber seeds from last season that still seem to be viable, so we're hoping to just use them.

How do I get started with the seeds? Do I plant them directly in the 5:1:1 mix or start them in "regular" potting soil and transplant them? I'm at a loss for where to start. We're probably already "pushing" the planting season here in North Carolina. Any advice would be greatly appreciated!

Comments (5)

• emgardener
    12 years ago

It might be more difficult planting seeds directly in 5:1:1. The seeds and new root shoots need constant moisture all around them. I'd just put in a 1/2 cup or so of some seed starter peat based mix right in your container and plant the seeds in that. Or do the normal, and start them in a separate pot or 6-pack.