Return to the Container Gardening Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
newb on Al's 5.1.1 mix

Posted by NuGardnrInNc 7 WNC (My Page) on
Wed, Mar 9, 11 at 16:18

Hello all. I'm new to the garden and the GH which I recently built, and am planning on using pots in my GH. It will be all vege's right now except a banana and orange I will use the gritty mix on. I've read extensively on the forums and the information is never-ending. Still I have a few questions that I need help with. I'm planning on using the 5.1.1 mix but with some changes.

First I think I saw somewhere that Al said the peat could be substituted with compost. Now that could be wrong hence the question. I understand the problems with using compost in containers and have read the retention posts, just to clarify, but figured with the ratio it wouldn't be a problem.

I had also been contemplating using compost as a mulch on all plants, pros v cons(I am sure there are lots of both).

Lastly, you can laugh, but as a newcomer what is perlite? I here talk of toxic dust and also talks of replacing it with turface for more moisture. I don't think I'll need the moisture, but what about other alternatives, maybe like the crushed granite.

Thanks to you all and Al for all you do for others here. Your help and time is greatly appreciated.

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: newb on Al's 5.1.1 mix

As a note I just started composting as well and it won't be ready this year, so I was planning on using a good potting soil to fill in the mix. And I live a ways from civilization except for the small garden center and rock quarry down the street (hence substitutions). The garden center just opened for season and I haven't been to see what they have yet but I know for the most they have stuff for landscaping not so much for gardens.

o

• Posted by tapla z5b-6a mid-MI (My Page) on
    Wed, Mar 9, 11 at 16:45

Hi, NuG. ;o) Thanks for the confidence & kindness. I appreciate both.