Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
weebay

Question about Morning glories

weebay
18 years ago

I want to plant morning glories and moonflowers around my balcony railing. I was planning on lining the bottom of the balcony with window boxes and planting them in there. But is that deep enough? How deep of a container do morning glories need?

also I've read that they do better not being fertilized so much. But since they are in a container I was planning on fertilizing every two weeks. Is that too much for them?

Thanks for any help. This is my first year with out a yard, so I am new to an all container garden.

Comments (10)

• tapla (mid-Michigan, USDA z5b-6a)
    18 years ago

The shallower the container, the more difficult it will be to grow mg's. Shallow containers will have a higher % of saturated soil at the bottom of the container compared to a deeper container. The depth of the container isn't the only important consideration. Your soil type, container size, and amount/type of plant material all enter into the pic.

Fertilizer programs that are not heavy-handed with the N will produce plants with more blooms and stronger vines. A tomato fertilizer in a 4-6-8 or 10-15-10 blend would probably be a good choice.

Al

• mea2214
    18 years ago

Morning glories are an interesting beast and can tolerate small containers as long as they're watered. As an experiment I let a vine grow in a small 5" pot nestled into a CD-R 50 pack plastic spindle cover. You can see the photo of the pot at:

http://www.brandylion.com/images/small-mg-pot.jpg

The resulting plant got bigger than I expected with its roots occupying the entire CD-R plastic spindle simply soaking in water. The resultant plant is in the link below. I didn't fertilize this plant at all.

However, I think ferilizing helps these plants later in the year when they start getting big and losing their lower leaves.

Here is a link that might be useful: {{gwi:13368}}

• suzi7
    18 years ago