Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
buckeye85_gw

Repot blueberries from 5-1-1 to gritty

Buckeye85
10 years ago

I've had my blueberries in the 5-1-1 mix modified for acid-loving plants in 20 gal smart pots for 2 years; they're 3 year old bushes now and have been very healthy. From what I understand, the 5-1-1 is not ideal for long-term. I have fairly easy access to all of the gritty mix components and was thinking of repotting the plants into it. Or, I could just repot into 5-1-1 again? Is there a reason to do one or the other?

I am very new to fruit growing and have been sort of bumbling around...I'm amazed they've done this well this long! I have no idea how to repot properly, so if anyone has easy advice or a great link I'd appreciate it...a lot of the info I've found has referred to small houseplants, not big blueberry bushes.

Comments (2)

• Ernie
    10 years ago