Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
kawaiineko_gardener

confused with container sizes......

I'm a newbie with container gardening, so please bare with me.

I'm getting mixed signals from recommendations with what size containers to use with planting vegetables and how many plants to plant in each container. Also with where I live they don't specify the gallon size of the window boxes. All they give is the diameter of the rim of the window box in inches. This unfortunately fails to tell me how many gallons of soil the container can hold.

I do have the size in inches of the rim of the diameter of the window boxes that are available where are they live.

They are:

18" window box

30" window box

Can somebody please tell me how many gallons of soil these window boxes can hold? If you're asking how to provide this information to me, there is only one suggestion I can make. Based upon the rim of the diameter of the pot in inches, figure out how much soil the container can hold based upon how big the rim of the diameter of the pot is in inches. If this isn't feasible then can somebody give me a formula of some kind of how to figure out how many gallons of soil the container can hold using the size of the rim of the diameter of the pot in inches as a guideline? I've tried to figure this out, but to no avail.

The resources I have are a gardening pamphlet a pdf file from a website, and a website. I'm getting different suggestions and recommendations as to what size containers to use with each source.

With the pamphlet there are couple of problems, and they are:

With many of the recommended sizes it recommends the use of a 5-gallon window box. However it doesn't specify how many plants can be grown in a container of this size. On top of this it fails to specify whether only one plant can be grown in a container of the size they recommend.

The pamphlet recommends this:

Vegetable, Beans, Snap: