Return to the Container Gardening Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
New Gardener

Posted by beansie 10a (My Page) on
Thu, Mar 17, 11 at 20:54

Hello All,
I am new to the world of gardening, and new to these forums. I appreciate and admire all the help and information that everyone shares.
Everything I am currently growing is in containers, I have a large yard but I am not allowed to dig into the ground because I rent my home.
It started out with just some native wildflowers in large containers, and once I saw those babies start to sprout I was hooked.
Then I got 4 rosebushes, which went into some large containers with cheap soil. I added alfalfa pellets and coffee grounds thinking that would help, not knowing that I was probably doing more harm than good.
I was given 2 herbaceous peonies for my birthday, and after I received those I became really interested in proper container gardening. They are very special to me and I reeeeally dont want to kill them.
I also have some dahlias coming in the mail in april.
I was searching the internet constantly looking for information on growing in containers, and it wasnt until I found this website that I got some real straightforward, comprehensive information. I wish I had found this earlier.
So, I found Al's recommended potting mixes (which I am incredibly grateful for) and I am planning on using the gritty mix for my dahlias and peonies. I have been told that peonies prefer rich soil, does that mean I should use a different mix?
Also, should I re-pot my roses into the gritty mix? I don't want to harm them, they have been in their current containers since January. There are mushrooms growing in their containers, should that lead me to believe that there is too much moisture in the containers?