Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
dookieface

using garden soil for potted plants

dookieface
15 years ago

Hi,

I am new to this whole gardening and soil mixing. After doing a bit of research, I am starting to put this into practice.

I found some cheap scotts garden soil on sale so i thought why not make this garden soil into potting soil..

So i put 1cf of garden soil in a bucket and threw in some coarse sand perlite and lime into it.. i threw in about half the bag of sand and half bag of perlite.

I am not sure if i should add anything else or if it is the right texture. I want it to drain fairly well and not compact.

But, i am wondering if this type of mixture is fine for my potted plants.

Comments (10)

• tapla (mid-Michigan, USDA z5b-6a)
    15 years ago

If you continue your research here, you'll find the general consensus is that garden/topsoil is probably going to be much less than an ideal choice because of its tendency to compact, it's lack of aeration, and its high water retention when employed in container soils. What works in the garden is often best left there when it comes to soils.

Al

Here is a link that might be useful: Click me if you want more details

• dissident
    15 years ago

I wouldn't use it. Al here is pretty much the expert on container gardening here and he's always polite.. I would suggest looking up some of his threads or doing a search on "soil discussion" or "turface" to get some more information on what might be better for house plants.

Generally you should avoid using any "soil" in container gardening/house plants. It simply won't provide the aeration and drainage required.

• Dan _Staley (5b Sunset 2B AHS 7)
    15 years ago

I would be surprised if there is an intro hort class/website/text anywhere on the planet that advocates garden soil in pots. If there is one, the teacher needs to be replaced.

Dan

• jodik_gw
    15 years ago