Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
pondluvr

Need more water retention in 5:1:1 mix

pondluvr
12 years ago

I am a newbie and started using Al's 5:1:1 a few years ago. For me, I seem to have to water way too frequently with this mix. To complicate matters, if I fertilize with a weak solution of Foliage Pro at each watering, which is sometimes several times a week, that is a LOT of work filling and hauling a watering can around because most of my gardening is done in many, many containers.

Question 1: How can I ammend the 5:1:1 to get better water retention? I've found that adding more peat only makes it harder to get wet in the case it dries out.

Question 2: Is there an easier way to apply Foliage Pro than using a watering can? I tried using a hose end sprayer, but the settings must not be quite right because I burned through way more than I should have... and it's expensive. Plus with the 5:1:1 draining so freely, a lot of my $$ is going out the bottom of the pots and onto the ground.

FYI....A lot of my containers are hosta. With those, I eventually might transfer them over to the gritty mix (but this will be costly as I have LOTS of them in containers, some very large, and the Turface is pricey. The other containers are annuals.

Sorry if these are no brainer questions, but your input will be appreciated.

Sandy

Comments (13)

• JVjava
    12 years ago

Sandy,

I think you could add more peat to the mix to increase soil retention, but I could be wrong. I would go back and read through Al's posts on water movement and soil, or hopefully he or Josh will see your post and provide some ideas.

Last year I started out feeding Foliage Pro at a 1/4 tsp per gallon ratio at each feeding which got to be too much work. Josh recommended feeding just once a week. So I gradually, over a few weeks switched to "Friday feeding" as Josh calls it. Much less work.

good luck

Jon

• greenman28 NorCal 7b/8a
    12 years ago

Hey, Jon! ;-)