Return to the Container Gardening Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
okay to top dress 5-1-1 with compost?

Posted by njitgrad 6A/6B New Jersey (My Page) on
Wed, Apr 30, 14 at 10:02

5-1-1 newbie here. I'd like to know if anyone here adds compost to their 5-1-1 mix either before planting (mixed in) or afterwards (top dressing) throughout the season? I never thought about this until now and I hope that the large amount of compost I started last year is actually going to serve some purpose.

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: okay to top dress 5-1-1 with compost?

From the University of Vermont Extension:

"Issues with compost in potting mix. "In some ways, compost is like snowflakes" no two batches of compost are exactly alike. So while compost usually adds value to a potting mix, it can also add a measure of uncertainty about performance that is not the case with conventional mixes. Immature compost in particular can harm seedlings by releasing ammonia, or tying up nitrogen, or stunting growth because of organic acids that have not fully decomposed. To avoid these problems it is important to use only mature compost, and to buy it from a reputable source or to carefully make your own using a consistent supply of high quality ingredients."

More at the link.

Here is a link that might be useful: http://www.uvm.edu/vtvegandberry/factsheets/pottingmix.html

o

(I do like, and use, compost myself for large outdoor containers, But I recognize those caveats. Most old gardening books talk about "well aged" compost for those reasons.)

o