Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
ashley05_gw

Gritty Mix Questions

ashley05
11 years ago

Hi all!
I'm new to both this forum and container gardening. I've had house plants through the years and killed them all, including plants that are supposed to be impossible kill. Three years ago, I started gardening perennials outside and they've flourished. When my MIL passed away in February, I got a beautiful peace lily and thought I'd try again. Since then, I aquired a phalaenopsis orchid and two guzmania bromelads. I've been researching the best soils to keep my plants in and came across the gritty mix.

I read Al's orignial post, as well as a bunch of others on this forum and I'm seriously thinking of trying it. Looking back, I think my biggest problem was overwatering and soil drainage, so I this will help me. I think I have a handle on how to make it and how it works, although I do plan to go back and reread everything. I do have some other questions before I start.

1. Has anyone had success with peace lilies, or with phalaenopsis orchids, or with guzmania bromeliads? How about the recommended Foliage Pro fertilizer?

2. Previous posters recommended spreading roots and removing the old soil. How do I do that? Just soak the plant in water?

3. After repotting, how long to I wait to fertilize?

4. I've never repotted anything before. If I find instructions for repotting with peat soil, is it the same with the gritty mix?

5. I saw that I can use bigger containers since I don't have to worry about the soil staying evenly moist. How do I know what size to use?

6. Do you have more success with clay or plastic containers?

7. How do I store anything left after I mix it? How long can I store it?

8. For plants that like a lot of humidity (like my orchid), do I still use a humidity tray?

9. I saw that the mix will usually hold up up for about three years. How do I know when it's time to chnge it?