Return to the Container Gardening Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Need Help with Gritty Mix

Posted by kcwinz CA (My Page) on
Sun, Apr 6, 14 at 13:43

Hi - I've been reading all the info on Gritty Mix and was planning to make it and plant this weekend. I am in the SF East Bay (Livermore) where it gets very hot in the summer. I am planning succulents in containers and they will be in the sun.

I bought Turface MVP and small bags of Reptibark. I could not find the Manno Pro or Cherrystone anywhere. The local feed store had chicken grit but it had oyster shells and a few other things added.

My husband had some leftover crushed granite that was 1/4 inch but it seemed to have a lot of smaller too. I screened it to get rid of the power and then screened on 1/4 hardware cloth to get rid of the larger pieces.

I think it is still too big? Could someone take a look and let me know what you think?

Any advice is helpful as I am a total newbie to this!

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Need Help with Gritty Mix

The bark is far too large to make a proper Gritty Mix.
The other ingredients should work well if the bark is screened 1/8 - 1/4 inch.

Josh

o

Thanks. Shoot! I bought two small bags of Reptibark mainly for the convenience of using it out of the bag. I did start to run it over 1/4 hardware cloth but found that not much at all was falling through.

Has Reptibark changed to where it no longer is the small size right for the mix? They had larger bags on sale but I bought the small ones to make sure it was small.

o

As far as I know, Reptibark can't be used straight from the bag, unless you're using it for 5-1-1 mix.

Josh

o

Thanks. Would the 5-1-1 be as good for succulents in a container in hot weather? I"m up for trying that instead.
Thanks for your help!

o

Unfortunately, it will not work as well for the majority of succulents. It is very good for things such as Holiday Cacti, arboreal cacti, Hoyas, and similar.

Josh

o