Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
meyermike_1micha

Please, could someone give me quick advice on these maples?

meyermike_1micha
12 years ago

Hello, I was wondering if I should cut away the thicker branches that have already been chopped, or just leave them for now?

I can see new growth coming off of one of them. I am not sure what shape I want these in, since I have no vision, but I hope whatever I am doing or going to do will make good looking trees:-)

See all the new growth around the two cut branches?

{{gwi:20960}}

{{gwi:20961}}

Then on this one, the cut branch looks absolutely ugly, but there is new growth nubs coming on the branch to the left to fill in that side?

{{gwi:20962}}

{{gwi:20963}}

Thanks so much:-)

Comments (10)

• nick1427d
    12 years ago

I'm no expert but have many jap maples in my yard (in ground). I would let it grow out this season, maybe trim it up this fall or late winter next year if it still looks ugly, to YOU.

I for one would cut those bigger already chopped branches but only cut above where there is new growth. This new growth might take off.

The great thing about most jap maples is they will grow in many directions and make for some interesting branch structure. With that being said I've always been told not to trim alot when the tree is young and let the tree do it's thing.

just my two cents worth

• tapla (mid-Michigan, USDA z5b-6a)
    12 years ago

Is your intent to keep these trees in pots, or plant out in the landscape? Potential bonsai?

Al

• meyermike_1micha
    Original Author
    12 years ago

Hello Al. My intent is too keep them in their small pots:-) Potential Bonsai.

Thank s to you both:-)

Mike

• tapla (mid-Michigan, USDA z5b-6a)
    12 years ago

Our perspectives are going to be different, I think, but with an eye toward the future .....