Return to the Container Gardening Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Help with trees in containers.

Posted by iwstlj2415 5 (My Page) on
Fri, Apr 1, 11 at 15:07

Last fall I decided to grow some trees from seed in containers so I planted Acorns, Horse Chestnuts, and some maple seeds in pots. Many of them are sprouting now. However, being a newbie, I planted them in pure topsoil. Now that I have realized my mistake does anyone have any recommendations on what to plant them in? I have read about Al's gritty mix, and 5:1:1 mix and I would really like to try them, but at this point in time I don't have the money or ability to track down all those ingredients. I hope to use them in the future, but for now I just need a planting medium that is better then topsoil.

Also, I have a potted tree that I got in the summer that has sent out about 30 leaves since March 18th. However, the leaves are rippled/curled along the edges. They're also solid green and very soft. Does anyone have any idea what's wrong with it? I've been watering it about every other day. I don't have a clue what kind of tree it is. I will try to post a picture later if someone can tell me how.

Thanks for any advice you can give.

iwstlj2415

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Help with trees in containers.

• Posted by tapla z5b-6a mid-MI (My Page) on
    Fri, Apr 1, 11 at 16:08

You're almost certainly over-watering if you're watering every other day in topsoil. You really should get the plants into something else. The 5:1:1 mix is cheaper to make than buying bagged soil, but if you end up with bagged soil, can you partially bury your container? That will change the way water behaves and let you get by a little better if you're using a heavy soil.

Unsure about what's wrong with your tree, but the lack of aeration could be causing one or more of nutritional deficiencies, the symptoms of which could be leaf deformities, including cupping, rolling, and wavy leaf margins.

Al

o Post a Follow-Up