Return to the Container Gardening Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Repot/Root Pruning Dwarf Lime - Timing

Posted by WineBarrelNZ none (My Page) on
Sat, Apr 6, 13 at 19:41

Hi All,

I should start out by saying that I am a novice at every gardening level. A friend of mine has begun growing dwarf citrus trees in containers and started enlightening me to how bad I have treated our dwarf lime.

7 years ago I gave my girlfriend a dwarf lime in a square concrete pot. 300mm (12 inches) by 300mm (12 inches) wide and 500mm (20 inches) tall. It has been in the same potting mix the entire 7 years.

Now that I know how bad this is for the tree I want to repot and root prune it. I have bought a half wine barrel, drilled for drainage and the ingredients for Al's 5 1 1 mix.

I have read that the best time to repot and root prune citrus trees is Spring. It is currently halfway through Autumn in New Zealand. The tree has a lot of limes on it, we have had maybe 5 limes off the tree the others are not ready. My priority is to do the right thing for the tree, I don't mind losing the crop of limes.

I would love some advice on my best course of action. Do I need to wait till Spring or can I repot and root prune now? If now would it best to remove the fruit?

Thanks in advance for any help or comments.

Dom

This post was edited by WineBarrelNZ on Sat, Apr 6, 13 at 20:14

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Repot/Root Pruning Dwarf Lime - Timing

• Posted by tapla z5b-6a mid-MI (My Page) on
    Sat, Apr 6, 13 at 20:55

I'd depot it, cut off the bottom 1/4 of the root mass, cut some deep vertical slits in the remaining root mass (with a utility knife or equal) and pot up temporarily until spring. I'm guessing you might have some difficulty getting it out of the pot.

Al

o

Thanks Al,

Yes I think I may have to break the pot to remove the poor tree.
Do you think I should remove the fruit before repotting or is this not a factor?

Thanks again,
Dom

o

Sun, Apr 7, 13 at 13:24