Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
rlk237

Gritty mix problems

rlk237
11 years ago

Hello all, thanks in advance for reading this.

I have been caring for plants for years and have recently been utterly convinced that my plants would benefit from Al's gritty mix (I'm a scientist, it all makes perfect, lovely sense). I posted my issues below elsewhere, and it was suggested I start a new thread and that I include many details, so here we go.

I went and bought all three ingredients. I used cherrystone poultry grit, Napa Oil Dry (there's no Turface to be found around here), and bark fines (Reptibark from a pet store). I screened all three components as per Al's instructions, and rinsed them all very well once they were mixed together. I also bought Foliage Pro to use for fertilization.

I moved my large 10-year old jade into the gritty mix along with about 10 Christmas cacti (all are fairly small, about 10-leaf starters), and a big lemon dracaena. Only one of these transplants has not suffered immensely.

I planted the jade in barely moist gritty mix and watered it about a week after transplant. Please note, I did a decent amount of root clipping to get the root ball healthier and break out the old compacted soil. About two weeks after moving it, it started looking very droopy and when I went over to look at it the big branches fell off with the slightest touch. I quickly dumped out the mix to check out the plant roots and the bottom 1/2 of the plant was all mush. I have never had a problem with this jade before; it has always given me new healthy growth, and I used to use a regular cactus soil mix and water it once every 4-5 weeks or so.