Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
micropachysaurus

Tote bin raised beds?!?!?

Micropachysaurus
9 years ago

Hello, this year I am thinking of using 38L plastic tote bins as raised beds. My idea was to cut off the bottoms, and then to dig up a square area of grass, and then fill of the bins with compost and soil and then plant stuff in them. I am new to raised beds so, is my idea good? Will it work? ( I don't want to use wood because I suck at building stuff, lol)

Comments (20)

• johns.coastal.patio
    9 years ago

I might use the totes for container gardening, but I'd lean toward something else for raised beds. I think they'd become unstable, break down, with the bottom gone.

If you search "cedar raised bed kit" you can see a lot of things that, per square foot, might beat the totes on price. Home Depot had a 4 foot by 4 foot kit on sale for $40. Assuming you live near a kit seller ... it might not be hard to assemble.

• gardenper
    9 years ago

I think it's fine, as long as you know it might not last as much as even the cheap wooden raised beds. Also, I would not know about the plastic stuff in totes without more research, so I might just grow flowers there, not vegetables.

Also, in case height is a stability issue, then maybe you could cut it in half. That way, it adds more stability and you don't need to fill it up as much!

• johns.coastal.patio
    9 years ago

A 5 gallon bucket, with the bottom removed, and punched down into the soil might do what you want too. Cutting deeper it might be better at keeping grass roots at bay.

• centexan254 zone 8 Temple, Tx
    9 years ago

I would use 5-1-1 mix, or potting mix in a tote. The thing is even though the bottom is open there is still the compacting problems to deal with. I tried it with a high sided crate that was 18 inches tall. The plant did great at first. Then when the compaction started it got root bound real bad.

• Micropachysaurus
    Original Author
    9 years ago