Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
jacqdavis

Misty blueberry leaves turning brown and crumbly

Jacq Davis
12 years ago

First of all, I love this forum and have learned lots of info since I am planning to start an edible garden in the house we are purchasing in Tempe, AZ.

One of the local nurseries offered Misty and Sharpblue variety blueberries so I got one of each.

It has been two weeks since I have repotted them and did two rounds of Miracid fertilizing so far. The Sharpblue looks ok, but not really fruiting. The Misty is looking like it is getting sicker each day...

Since I am totally new at this, and I was not able to find photos of similar problem on the internet and here, I figure it will be helpful to post the photo of the problem and maybe someone here will be so kind to help me figure out a solution.

{{gwi:25700}}

Comments (13)

• tapla (mid-Michigan, USDA z5b-6a)
    12 years ago

Blueberries LOVE water, but are like potatoes in that neither do THEY tolerate wet feet. Hopefully, you're using a well-aerated, fast-draining soil. Make sure you're not over-watering - think DAMP, not WET. Also, skip the Miracid - it has too much nitrogen. You'll get the benefit of the acidification from the urea with 24-8-16, too, but with 25% less nitrogen. Also - I don't know what the temperatures are like there, but please do not fertilize with urea or organic forms of N when mean soil temps are Al

• Jacq Davis
    Original Author
    12 years ago

Thank you so much, Al! The current temperature here ranges from 50-85 degrees. I have been watering it with both tap water and distilled water 3-4 times a week. I am not familiar with the acidification from the urea with 24-8-16. So I will have to look into that some more to see what I need to do.

12 years ago

3-4 times per week raises warning flags when it comes to watering. Look in that direction as the likely source of your leaf issue.

Al

• snts14
    12 years ago

Hello,