Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
express128

Al's 5.1.1 mix

Express128
12 years ago

Alight, so I've repotted most of my plants with al's 5.1.1 mix. Does anyone know how long this mix will last before the pine barks, peat moss, ect break down and the potting mix will have to be replaced? I've read that the 5.1.1 doesn't last as long but no one gave an estimate on when it'll have to be changed.

Thanks

Comments (17)

• edweather USDA 9a, HZ 9, Sunset 28
    12 years ago

This is my first year with the 5:1:1 also, but from what I've read on this forum, it lasts basically 1 year.

• greenman28 NorCal 7b/8a
    12 years ago

The intended length of time is a year - or a growing season, essentially.

However, it *can* be "pressed into service" longer if needed. I have an outdoor Fern
    that's been in the 5-1-1 for two years now, and the mix has not compacted. I also have
    a few Maples and Buckeyes in the 5-1-1 that are going into their second year now.

Much of this depends upon how composted your bark is. I use uncomposted bark, so that buys
    some extra time in the bucket, as it were. Highly composted bark will breakdown much
    more rapidly, obviously.

Josh

• tapla (mid-Michigan, USDA z5b-6a)
    12 years ago

It really depends on your personal standards. Bark breaks down at a rate about 1/4 that of peat, and when you factor in the larger particles & reduced surface area of the bark used in the gritty mix & 5:1:1 mixes, it's much slower than that. Additionally, the roots actually become a part of the soil structure & help keep plantings' soils from collapsing. Reusing a soil from one planting in another planting is different than having a plant in the same soil for more than a year. It's not expecting too much if you wanted to keep the same plant in the 5:1:1 mix for 2 years, or even 3 if the soil mass is well colonized.