Return to the Container Gardening Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
drainage

Posted by ProjectX none (My Page) on
Wed, May 22, 13 at 1:32

I'm a newbie to the forums and growin things, I ordered an orange tree and am getting ready to mix up some potting soil-i went with peat moss, perlite and cedar bark chips. My ? is, since i need good draining and aerated soil I was also thinking of shredding a scouring pad (those green scrubbies you clean with) and mixing it in the soil??? Would this work, be bad, good or indifferent? Please, I am not looking for just yes or no but a little insight as to why or why not, like i said I'm new to this and want to understand why things do or don't work. I really appreciate advice, help criticism anyone's willing to offer on my little scouring pad idea!!!

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: drainage

Some of the best information ever is right at your fingertips in this forum- I refer you to tapla's posts on "Container Soils - Water Movement & Retention."
Link below-

Once you have read and digested that (it won't be quick) then simply browse the forum and read everything that looks relevant. Study. Learn.
A week or two of that and you might be ready to mix up some potting media :)

Here is a link that might be useful: Container Soils - Water Movement and Retention

o

scouring pad a bad idea IMHO, cearbhaill has given great advice

o

Thanks for replying, I will definitely keep reading up on it-thanks for
the link. However, ready or not I have already mixed up some potting mix and I'm pretty confident in it. My question is specifically about adding shredded up scouring pads to the mix and I'm still desperate to get some insight into my little green scrubby idea???????

o

Christine-Thanks for replying, why is a scouring pad a bad idea. I'm not saying your wrong, I would just would like to understand why something is bad, wouldn't work or would.

o

• Posted by nil13 z21 Mt. Washington L (My Page) on
    Wed, May 22, 13 at 11:33