Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
higgsr1

Gritty mix ok?

Higgsr1
10 years ago

Could someone please check the pics of my gritty mix. I have 3 18in maples in my first gritty mix. I want to make sure I did it right before I put a 5 ft maple in it. I did make a couple small mistakes. Coin might be tough to make out, but its a quarter.

2 part -Screened pine bark mulch(lowes). Screened to 1/2
1 part- Manna pro granite grit.
1part- Safe I oil absorb. In place of turface. Environmentally safe and made up of montmortilite clay.

I did not screen grit or turface replacement.
I also did not disturb the root ball of maples when I added them to the gritty mix. Is this a problem?

Sorry for all the questions. I'm very new to gritty mix and japanese maples.

Comments (9)

• edweather USDA 9a, HZ 9, Sunset 28
    10 years ago

Looks ok but for a few large pieces, and some sapwood. I screened my gritty mix bark to between 1/8 and 1/4. Half inch screen might have been a little large. What was your small screen size, or did you just use everything that went through the 1/2" screen?

• Higgsr1
    Original Author
    10 years ago

I used everything that went though the screen. Should I be on the look out for signs of wilting? I'm assuming the smaller particles will cause more water retention. Everything seems ok. But it's only been 2 days.

• greenman28 NorCal 7b/8a
    10 years ago

Well, that's not the gritty mix, but it may work for maples.

Lots of sapwood, and your bark wasn't screened properly. Did you read the recipe? Bark should be screened 1/8 to 1/4 inch (3/8 inch is the maximum for Pine bark particularly, due to the flat shape sometimes seen).

Maples are best re-potted before they have leafed out. When maples are potted into Gritty Mix, they need to be bare-rooted so that you don't have two dissimilar mixes in the same container - which can lead to uneven watering, drainage, and drying.