Return to the Container Gardening Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Question about Turface for Gritty Mix

Posted by krismast 6 (My Page) on
Mon, May 7, 12 at 8:11

Hi everyone. This is my first time mixing up gritty mix and I had a question about the Turface. I was sifting the Turface last night using a homemade sifter with insect screen on the bottom. I had read from others that when they sifted their Turface they lost up to 50% of the bag! But I don't feel that I lost much at all. I just wanted to make sure that I sifted it right and got rid of the fines. I put a few scoops in the sifter and just shook it back and forth until only a few small pieces were falling out. I also took my hand and rubbed it over the screen to help push more of the smaller pieces out. After all this it took me about two hours to sift a 50 pound bag and I hope that I don't have to resift! Do you think I sifted it thoroughly enough?

Thanks for the help!
Kristopher

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Question about Turface for Gritty Mix

The amount you lose varies from bag to bag. You will also notice most of the finer stuff is near the bottom of the bag. You are doing fine and you do not need to work so hard. I can go through a 50 lb bag in 20 min or less.

o

Sometimes life smiles at you, and you may have lucked out with a good bag! As long as it was turface "MVP" or "Allsport", sounds good...

o

Are you using aluminum or fiberglass insect screen? The fiberglass screen has thicker strands which means smaller holes. You want to use aluminum screen so that more of the smaller particles are allowed to pass through.

Also, I think many of the people losing around half of their Turface (like myself) are using something coarser than insect screen which is probably unnecessary in most cases.

-Chris

o

I average about 1/4 of the bag lost to "fines". As mentioned, you'll feel like you're doing great, until you get to the bottom, where the small stuff is. Then you feel like 95% of it is lost.

Joe

o