Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
rachelthepoet

Pest on Black-Eyed Susan Container Plant

rachelthepoet
11 years ago

Hello Everyone! This is my first post!

I planted black-eyed susan seeds on April 2nd, and the plant has been doing very well! The pot is kept outside on my porch and gets full-sun during the day.

This week, I've noticed some chewed up leaves. There are some gnats flying around the plant, but I'm not sure if they could've caused this damage. It has been rainy for the past week, so I'm also not sure if the rain/extra moisture brought in the bugs.

Here is a picture:

http://i698.photobucket.com/albums/vv348/bogiethecat/oneandahalfmonths.jpg

Is it at the point where I need to treat? Do I just let this work itself out on its own? I'm a beginner gardener, and I don't want the bugs to kill my plant! THANK YOU!

Comments (6)

• rina_Ontario,Canada 5a
    11 years ago

Rachel,

I don't see any chewed-up leaves...

I would just make sure that soil drains well, and perhaps even separate the clump (seems to be pretty dense). You could have easily 2 pots.
    They are easy plants to grow and not demanding.
    I am not expert on plants, but try to make sure that all plants have also good air circulation (especially ones prone to powdery mildew) - besides trying not to overwater.

Don't spray with anything, they attract beneficial insects, bees, butterflies, even hummingbirds.
    You can cut off (deadhead) flowers when finished flowering to hopefully get few more and prevent self-seeding. I leave them on to ripen the seeds which are great food for birds in fall (love the yellow finches!).

Rina

• rachelthepoet
    Original Author
    11 years ago

Rina: