Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
organic_dusty

My Sweet Banana Peppers are turning RED!

organic_dusty
14 years ago

I'm really happy about my banana peppers! This is my first year growing them... I hope they keep going now that it is turning hot and humid here.

{{gwi:28548}}

{{gwi:28549}}

Thanks for looking! My other pictures are on photobucket at the link below.

Here is a link that might be useful: My container garden photos

Comments (13)

• justaguy2
    14 years ago

Nice! I usually pick mine while yellow, are they sweeter red?

• bdobs
    14 years ago

Lookin nice!! I love sweet Banana peps.

Justaguy
    Yes, they are sweeter when ripe=red :)

• earthworm73
    14 years ago

Wow great photos of your yummy looking peppers. What camera are ya using?

Larrick

• organic_dusty
    Original Author
    14 years ago

Thank you very much:) It is a Nikon Cool pix 990. Feel free to check out all of my pictures on Photo Bucket:)

Dusty

• organic_dusty
    Original Author
    14 years ago

Wow, it just keeps getting redder! I guess it is time to eat it!

{{gwi:28550}}

• ndgrower
    14 years ago

Just have a couple age questions, how old are the plants, and how long did it take from flowers to these pics when they are red. Thanks in advance

• organic_dusty
    Original Author
    14 years ago

I purchased the plant from Home Depot in a 3 gallon container and it had a few peppers on it and many flowers on April 2nd. The plant has more than doubled its size with aprox. 18 peppers or so on it and more flowers and baby peppers. 4 peppers turned bright red and several others are starting to. I would guess this plant is 3 months old or more. We picked some today and pickled them with a sliced mammoth jalapeno and regular jalapeno. Some of these peppers measured 7 inches or more in length. We will find out how they taste in a couple weeks. I have used several yellow banana peppers in my salsa. Very good tasting so hope the pickled ones are to die for.

• rachel597