Return to the Container Gardening Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
New to Gardening - wet - containers- yellow spots

Posted by Desireea3 zone 8 GA (My Page) on
Fri, May 3, 13 at 12:55

I am new to GA, new to gardening and I need help. It have been wet/raining/no sun for almost two weeks now and my very healthy plants have these small yellow circles on them. The picture I included is of my Zucchini plant but some of my beans, tomatoes and flowers have the same spots. I cannot find any pictures that match this so I am at a lost as to what it is or how to treat. I cannot find any bugs under the leaves and I have liitle gray flies that sometimes come up from the soil but I dug out some of the dirt and the roots look fine. I put a thin layer of ceder around the plants to try to keep the flies, ants and other bugs out. The yellow spots are getting worse though they are spreading and only showed up after the weather turned.

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: New to Gardening - wet - containers- yellow spots

I'm definitely no zone 8 expert, but in spite of the spots the leaves look pretty good. As long as it doesn't get worse and start killing the plant you might be ok. You might have to begin spraying with your insecticide and/or fungicide of choice.

This post was edited by edweather on Sat, May 4, 13 at 0:36

o

Hi,
if you know of a good nursery in your area, take in some sample leaves from all your plants and see what they say. You can also look up your local USDA county extension office and take them there. There are some mosaic viruses that can affect multiple types of plants. Worst case scenario, if you have to start over with zucchini, you can start from seed and have blossoms again in no time. It's still early for everything else too. It'd be important to id the cause of the problem though, so you know if you can can reuse your soil.
Hopefully it's just something minor related to the rain.

Here is a link that might be useful: County Extension Office lookup

o