Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
wrekkless

5:1:1 Mix Watering Questions

Wrekkless
10 years ago

I'm sure this has been addressed a gazillion times, but I've spent the past couple of days browsing posts and haven't been able to figure it about how to determine somewhat watering schedule, what frequency I should be looking for if my mix is working as it should, and how much.

I'm just getting started using the 5:1:1 mix for my vegetable garden. I checked all the local nurseries and feed stores with no luck for pine bark fines or coarse Perlite, but was able to find great pine/fir bark fines as a soil conditioner brand of Greensmix at my local Walmart of all places. I was worried it was too much dust, but after sifting a little bit, about 5% passes through an insect screen and very few pieces bigger than 1/4", mostly in the 1/16 to 1/8 range, so I'm pleased . At $3.30 for 2 cubic ft. back, I think it's a good deal. I did find a brand of soil conditioner called Mountain Magic at Home Depot, which is pine and fir bark fines....and composted forest materials. They had an open bag and it had very little bark, mostly dirt-like compost, so glad I didn't get that. I did find coarse Perlite at Home Depot, so all set with materials.

Now...on to my question about watering. I plan to water with low strength fertilizer each time, as suggested, but how often should I be watering and how much each time? I understand that there are tons of variables, such as location, humidity etc. Living in a dry state like Utah, things will tend to dry out even more quickly, so any guidelines on what I should be looking for, aiming for in regard to when and how much to water would be very appreciated.