Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
jerrya_gw

earthtainers with lime in the mix, still some BER

jerrya
13 years ago

Looks like some of my earthtainer fruit are getting BER on smallish fruit, whereas other fruits on the same plant are fine. I did put in the recommended amount of lime. At this point, should I put in more lime and try to work it in from the top? Is there a foliar spray fix or other fix? Right now the BER is small and I'm thinking if I get on it, I may be able to turn these around. I'm certain this isn't water stress related, I've kept the tainers filled with water and they've never dried out. Thanks.

Comments (12)

• rnewste
    13 years ago

Hi Jerry,

Adding in Dolomite granular Lime right now won't likely do any good, as it would take a couple of months for it to be absorbed into the root system / tomatoes. I have seen "topical" sprays that claim to prevent BER, but I have no experience with them. What varieties are being impacted by the BER?

Raybo

• jerrya
    Original Author
    13 years ago

Hi Ray:

Stupice has some BER on the higher up fruit, whereas those about ready to ripen look fine. They are so prolific that if I lose a few, so what? I'm also seeing some in Goose Creek (you supplied seeds, thanks) which hasn't set very well so far, so this is what really bums me out.Seemingly unaffected at this point are black cherry, black and brown boar and Indian Stripe. They two affected plants are in the same tainer, so, I'm thinking I didn't get enough lime in the mix somehow. (though I did mix it all up at once in wheelbarrow and attempted to be very precise on measurements.

The only time I've ever had any BER when in the ground it was a watering issue (not enough in really hot weather) so I don't have a bag of tricks on this. I may post over in Tville too. Thanks Raybo.

Jerry

• dancinglemons
    13 years ago