Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
cinnamonshops

Rookie mistakes

cinnamonshops
10 years ago

Hi all,

Similar to another recent poster here, I've just made at least one fairly classic rookie mistake. It's not my first time planting in containers, but it's my first time in awhile, and first time planting tomatoes.

I know perfectly well that a good potting mix is what you want to plant in, but the two bags I had weren't enough, and when I ran out to the store, I somehow went ahead and bought potting soil instead, without thinking. It's 60% top soil, 25% composted manure, and 15% peat moss. So needless to say, when I planted my second tomato plant, I realized that it was very poor-draining, but by then the deed was done.

What does everyone recommend I do? Leave it and see what happens? Track down some perlite (or something else?), dig up the (fairly large) seedling, mix it in, and replant? Or am I just up the creek?

One caveat is that I am relatively short of funds, although I don't mind shelling out a bit more to fix my mistake. Another issue, though, is that I don't have a car, so driving far and wide for giant bags of various ingredients isn't really an option. The simpler and more accessible the solution, the better, basically.

Thoughts?

Thanks so much!

Comments (7)

• ralexandra
    10 years ago

I feel your pain Cinnamonshops :p

The deed had already been done to hmm, maybe 10 plants before I realized the error of my ways. I wish I knew enough to help you out but I'm still trying to figure out if I'm up the creek myself lol I plan on replanting just about all of them, even my big tomato plant. Muddy pots, probably about 80% top soil, not good.

I'm sure someone will have something more useful for you, these folks seem like a pretty smart bunch. I wish you the best of luck and a wonderful bounty of tomatoes in your future :)

• cinnamonshops
    Original Author
    10 years ago