Return to the Container Gardening Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Repotting Dying Dwarf Yaupon Holly Help...

Posted by brownthumb65 8B Tallahassee (naturalmeds37@hotmail.com) on
Sat, May 21, 11 at 15:55

Hi Everyone,

The local grocery store marked down this poor plant in a 1 gallon container to .48!

It has a few green leaves still left on it. I see some new ones trying to come in, but mostly it is BARE. It is still alive I am just not sure how to repot it the best way.

I do not want to put it in the ground just yet, because I am in the middle of some other projects in my yard.

When I repot it should I just stick it in a bigger container and leave it be or is it wise to give it a little "trim" over all?

If you would like a picture I could TRY to do that. (I'm not good at posting photos, but I can put a link into a photobucket)

Any advice is warmly appreciated!

Thanks!

Halime

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Repotting Dying Dwarf Yaupon Holly Help...

If the plant is already dying, it means it is already stressed so repotting it may put it over the edge. Why do you think you need to repot it? Totally root bound, or...?

You might want to put it in a nice shady area, make sure it has sufficient water, and see if it recovers before putting it through the stress of a repot.

Still, $0.48 isn't a big investment, so if you need to repot it, go for it!

Holly

o
pics..re: repotting dying dwarf yaupon holly help...

I'm a new gardener and I like to do experiments, plus I felt bad for the little guy. The roots were extremely root bound unlike anything I've ever seen. All root hardly any soil.

What I need to know now is should I give it a pruning or not?
HELP anyone!

Here is the Photobuckets slideshow link

http://s1213.photobucket.com/albums/cc472/brownthumb65/?albumview=slideshow

Thanks,
Halime

Here is a link that might be useful: YAUPON

o