Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
lpl8man

growing zucchini in pots

lpl8man
17 years ago

Is it possible to grow this in pots? If so, what size pot do you need?

Comments (53)

• rain1950
    17 years ago

5 gallons minimum. You might want to find the DYI earthbox thread inn this forum.

• rosanne4153
    17 years ago

I planted some zucchini seeds about four weeks ago in two container pots. About a week and a half ago, I started seeing the plants beginning to emerge through the soil. Three days ago I cut off plants, leaving the two biggest ones in each container. Yesterday, I noticed that the two plants in one of the pots has a whitish powder forming on the leaves, whereas the other container's two plants look very green and healthy. I'm new at this, so I'm not sure what's happening. Can anyone give me some help on what to do? Thanks much.

• username_5
    17 years ago

Sounds like powdery mildew, Rosanne. It is a fungus very common to the vine crops.

Try a daily spraying with milk to see if that clears it up. Caught early it can work out. Otherwise you have to make a call between using a fungicide like sulphur (organic and human/pet safe) or letting the plant go to plant heaven. Often the PM will allow the plant to grow and produce fruit, but it just depends. Definitely avoid getting the leaves wet when watering as this just helps the fungus.

I am including a link to an article on milk as a fungicide

Here is a link that might be useful: milk

• rosanne4153
    17 years ago

Thanks much - I'll give the milk a try. And thanks for the link too - very informative.

• robt5625
    17 years ago

I have one zucchini and one yellow squash in an earth box. Both have been planted for about 4 weeks. Both are loaded with small squash and seem to be doing well.

• organic_nut
    17 years ago

for PM you can also try 1 aspirin tablet in a gallon of water sprayed on.