Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
tjbarney

Newb help needed for 5-1-1 and 1-1-1 Gritty

tjbarney
12 years ago

Ok, so I'm a newb and trying to find out exactly what I need for the 5-1-1 and 1-1-1 gritty. I have been reading all the posts and I'm still confused. I am going to use Al's 5-1-1 for my potted tomatoes and peppers. I am going to use the Gritty for my indoor bromeliad and hot peppers I will over winter. I thought I was doing really good with using Miracle Grow mixed with Mushroom compost from talking to people around here. Boy are they wrong! Everything is planted and not looking too good so I am going out tonight after work to get all the stuff for Al's mixes and try and get it all changed. UGH! I'm also recovering from shoulder surgery so this isn't too fun with basically one arm, lol.

I have seen where the Pine Bark Fines is referred to as 'soil conditioner' as well as the Turface being referred to as 'soil conditioner'. What exactly is Turface, I've also read that it was like kitty litter, isn't that the same as the grit? So confused! :S I plan on buying the Reptibark for my Gritty so I won't have to screen and not for sure what I will need to get for the 5-1-1 bark fines. Locally I have Lowes, Tractor Supply, and Atwoods. I called Tractor Supply and they carry the Manapro grit for $4.99 and Atwoods has a 5lb bag of grit for $2.87 (they didn't know what brand). Then do I need to get the Lime and Gypsum for both (which for which mix?) or can I get just one of the two to use on both mixes? I don't have to make very much so I really don't want to have to buy 50 lb bags of all this! lol Also, what exactly to do for both on the fertilizer that's listed? Thank you so much for the help and sorry for all the q's! Thanks Al for all the help you are giving everyone!

Julie

Comments (7)

• gyozu
    12 years ago