Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
kawaiineko_gardener

potato growing bags

NOTE:I don't know too much about them, as I've never used them before. This is why I'm asking opinions about them.

I've found these in gardening catalogs and found them online too.

I'm wondering if anybody has used them and if they're any good or are they just a gimmick? What are the pros and cons of them?

Would these potato grow bags be suitable for container gardening?

Comments (5)

• TheMasterGardener1
    12 years ago

I have grown peppers in 3 gal grow bags no prob but I used fish fert and my soil had alot of perlite to help with drainage. The down fall of grow bags is that they tend to fall over, also you cant reuse them but they are only like 20 cents. I would use them again but I have alot of containers.

• TwoMonths
    12 years ago

I made my own using the shade cloth....sewed up with wire, lol. I put a plastic wire around it to keep it standing at first. I rolled down the top like you would a sock. I put in some gardening dirt, put the 3-4 potato eyes down and covered with a bit of dirt, put in 3 more and then more dirt (maybe 3 inches) As they are growing I roll up the bag and add more dirt to cover stems up to top leaves. I have done that many times....I am probably a good 8 inches from top of bag and then I will stop. When they flower they are growing fruit all up and down the vines. When the vines die, I can harvest them. I made one bag that way, I used another 2 for my tomatos which are doing well. I planted more potatos the same way in a dog food bag. They are growing just as well. I just added a couple of small slits about 1 inch up from bottom. It drains just fine. I planted two nursery black pots. One is doing well and the other rotted. I think I will not plant the eyes from now on. I will plant the taters on end and the eyes will all sprout without the rot problem.