Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
flashau

Avocado in gritty mix

flashAU
10 years ago

I'm planning on re-potting an avocado in Al's gritty mix this weekend. I have my Turface, I have my "fines", I have my granite and I have my Dyna-Gro. When I get ready to re-pot, do I need to clean the "soil" off of the roots completely? I've read to keep it out of the sun while it adjusts, but other than that, I'm not sure what to do. I'm really pretty new to this, so any advice on this would be appreciated.

Also, I want to put it in a whiskey barrel. I know I need to drill holes for drainage, but how many and what size holes would be appropriate? Should I put landscape fabric in the bottom to prevent the mix from falling out? I'm really excited to try the mix. My poor avocado is not happy right now and I'm hoping the gritty mix will help the tree and will allow me to better take care of it.

I've also got a Meyer Lemon and Key Lime that I would like to do the same. The Meyer has lemons and I don't want to re--pot it right now because of that. When would be the best time to re-pot these?

Thanks,
Thomas...

This post was edited by flashAU on Thu, May 23, 13 at 15:35

Comments (4)

• tapla (mid-Michigan, USDA z5b-6a)
    10 years ago

Timing can be very important. It's rather late for you to be bare-rooting trees that are in leaf. For you, repotting both plants would be better in late Fed. I'm thinking that if you DO bare-root now, you're going to need to reduce the canopy a LOT so the roots can keep up with the moisture needs of the top. That's pretty much a non issue if you do your repotting in the early spring. Then, the tree utilizes internal chemical messengers to tell it how many newly opened buds the roots can/cannot support, and as new roots come on line, more buds are activated.