Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
trpnbils

Experimental container garden - critique needed

trpnbils
9 years ago

Thinking ahead to next winter....

I'm a high school science teacher and one of my pet projects is my experimental design class. This year, we experimented on the growing conditions of avocado plants in the school's greenhouse and got some cool results, but we used a grant to cover the cost of propane to heat the greenhouse. Now, having used up that grant, I'm trying to come up with alternatives for heating projects next year since the agriculture department doesn't use the greenhouse for anything during those coldest months of the year. We will not be able to heat the greenhouse this coming year, so this is one of my ideas.... tell me why it won't work or give me any other kind of feedback you'd like!

First, we have three 2x4'x8" boxes used as planters from this year that we can reuse. I would like to set up a circulating pump to move heated water underneath the soil and then cover the bed either with low hoops or something similar to hold in heat.

[URL=http://s14.photobucket.com/user/TrpnBils/media/heatedbedidea_zps4ce4f8ed.jpg.html][IMG]http://i14.photobucket.com/albums/a340/TrpnBils/heatedbedidea_zps4ce4f8ed.jpg[/IMG][/URL]

Comments (10)

• trpnbils
    Original Author
    9 years ago

http://i14.photobucket.com/albums/a340/TrpnBils/heatedbedidea_zps4ce4f8ed.jpg

For some reason Photobucket's IMG link won't let the picture show up....try this link.

Here is a link that might be useful: {{gwi:33160}}

• trpnbils
    Original Author
    9 years ago

I thought about the costs and, although I don't have any hard numbers yet, I would think it would have to be cheaper.

The pumps run about 60w and a 200w heater (which would not be on constantly) should heat the volume I'm expecting to use. Last year it cost close to $4000 for propane just heating December - March.

• charina
    9 years ago