Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
milocrab_gw

Bought coconut husk chips instead of bark...

milocrab
12 years ago

Hello everyone,

Firstly I need to state that I'm a completely newbie in gardening, so please bare with me. So, I'm planning to grow some salad greens in containers. I did some research and read about Al's 5-1-1 mix. Last week, I went to some gardening supply stores and searched for the ingredients. I couldn't find any pine bark fines, the only bark available were "orchid barks" which comes in small package and is quite expensive. Not knowing any better, I saw a huge bag of coconut husk chips and thought it could be used to replace the pine bark fines (since they are in particles that 5-10mm size). So, I came home all happy with a huge bag of coconut husk chips and perlite.

Then, I did more readings yesterday and realised the coconut husk chips and bark fines are completely different things; and that the coconut husk chips are very high in potassium and lack calcium. If to be used, I would need to add gypsum and epsom salts.

So here comes my question: I now have a huge bag of coconut husk chips, a bag of perlite, a vermicomposting bin that I started in March and would *LOVE* to use it in my containers. Any suggestions on how I can make a good mix with these ingredients? My newbie mind is thinking maybe I should reduce the percentage of the C.H.C, include more perlite and peat/vermicompost mix. How about 40% CHC:30% perlite:20 peat moss:10% vermicompost?

I also have a bottle of reptile calcium that I don't use anymore; can it be used with the mix? It says "100% Natural phosphorous-free oyster shell calcium carbonate" on the label. I understand I need calcium sulphate instead of calcium carbonate, but it would be nice if I can make use of it instead of going to waste (perhaps I can sprinkle some to my worm bin).

- Bonnie

Comments (4)

• tapla (mid-Michigan, USDA z5b-6a)
    12 years ago