Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
mozzles

Need advice with how much Foliage Pro to use..

mozzles
11 years ago

First off this is my first year gardening at all, I'm growing a variety of different tomatoes, bell peppers, hot peppers, and now a few other vegetables as well. All my plants are each in at least a 5 gallon pot, some of them I'm not sure of the size but they look considerably bigger. Maybe 6 or 7 gallon.

I got some Foliage Pro today after seeing the name come up a lot in discussion on here. For my tomato plants specifically, how much should I use? I'm sure it's different for the bell peppers and hot peppers so if you have any idea for those, let me know.

Also I'm having trouble watering them with the watering can I got today, without getting some on the leaves. Is this ok or will it hurt the leaves? Up until now I was watering with a quart jar but that was disturbing the soil a little so I got a watering can today, but I'm thinking maybe it was a little too big!

Read about using Pro-Tekt also, would most of you recommend adding that or anything else, now or at blooming? Again this is my first year gardening, so I could use all the advice I can get!

Zac

Comments (6)

• edweather USDA 9a, HZ 9, Sunset 28
    11 years ago

Wouldn't worry about getting any on the foliage. I just follow the directions on the bottle. 1 teaspoon per gallon once per week, or 1/4 teaspoon per gallon at every watering. Sometimes I increase it when the plants are growing vigorously. I also sometimes use Pro-Tekt, and again, I follow the instructions on the bottle. Hope this helps.

• greenman28 NorCal 7b/8a
    11 years ago

I pre-water, then fertilize, and then lightly water again to rinse any foliage that might
    have drops of the fertigation solution on it.

Josh

• howelbama
    11 years ago