Return to the Container Gardening Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Mineral Deficiency- Which Mineral?

Posted by JVjava 10 (My Page) on
Wed, May 25, 11 at 23:23

I am pretty sure I have a mineral deficiency. In the last 2 days my tomatillos which are in #15 nursery containers have developed this spotted chlorosis pattern, and it is appearing on more leaves and more pronounced. Does anyone know which mineral deficiency this could be. I am fertilizing with MG 24-8-16, a little less than 1/2 strength about every 8 days (each watering) they otherwise appear healthy, and are producing fruit already. Below is a link to the pictures.

Thanks, Jon

Here is a link that might be useful: Tomatillo Leaves

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Mineral Deficiency- Which Mineral?

i am by no means a professional(this is my second year of growing in pots) but from what i have read on here and the pictures i have seen. this might be a case of the annoying little spider mite! the yellow will continue to spread till the leaf falls off. if this is your enemy you can only keep them under control. they are worse to get rid of than a overly needy significant other(so i hear) i hope i am wrong for your sake.

Eric

o

• Posted by tapla z5b-6a mid-MI (My Page) on
    Thu, May 26, 11 at 12:51

It's always a good idea to eliminate the possibility of insect pests (like mites) before you begin looking toward nutrient deficiencies/toxicities as the trouble source, so please do that by holding a white sheet of paper under affected leaves & tapping them vigorously, then look for moving pepper-fine specks on the paper.

Because of your fertilizer, I would start asking questions about what soil you're using and whether or not it contained lime and what kind. It does looks like fairly early stages of a Mg deficiency (chlorotic blotches) - and I would strongly suspect Mg if the spots turn from chlorotic to necrotic.

Al

o

Al,