Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
amazander

Turface MVP vs. All Sports

amazander
11 years ago

All, newbie here :) learned a lot in this forum already.

Read a lot about Al's Gritty Mix and want to mix my own soil for the new Gardenia (4 feet tall tree above ground, 4 feet wide) I bought on sale.

I bought a 14'' clay pot, and about to do the mix... and no kidding, those materials are hard to come by. I just called around and found a close by place carries Turface but they stopped carry MVP - they only have something called Turface All Sports. I am not sure whether can I use it or not?

Thanks.

Comments (17)

• tapla (mid-Michigan, USDA z5b-6a)
    11 years ago

Same product.

Al

• amazander
    Original Author
    11 years ago

Thanks Al. I just have VERY hard time to find Crushed Granite (gran-i-grit). Tried a lot of places and nobody seems to sell it. Is there an alternative to gran-i-grit that is equally good?
    Thanks again,

• amazander
    Original Author
    11 years ago

BTW, I am using this for Gardenia and hopefully I can find one replacement that is as good as gran-i-grit...
    Thanks.

• howelbama
    11 years ago

Amazander, anywhere that sells live chickens will sell gran-i-grit...if you're in the northeast, you should have an Agway somewhat nearby...

• redshirtcat
    11 years ago

How big is the gardenia? What size pot is it in? Bush form or tree/standard form?

• amazander
    Original Author
    11 years ago

Wow, Howelbama, you are RIGHT - I have an Agway close by and they have both Gran-i-grit and pine bark fines at a very good price $9 for 50 lb and $6 for 3 cub feet. Very NICE ! Thanks a lot!

Red, My gardenia is 4 feet tall, Tree form. It was some how trimmed so it has about 2 feet of main stem and up there there are two feet big leaves and flowers. They are 4 feet wide, pretty big ones, I bought 14'' clay pot from Lowes. I guess it can contain about 4.5 gallon of soil (not experienced and this is my guess)