Return to the Container Gardening Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
How Many Edamame Plants Per Container?

Posted by urbngrdnr 10b (My Page) on
Wed, Jun 6, 12 at 0:13

This is my first time planting Edamame in a container. I plan to use a black 6-3/4"H x 8-3/4"W plastic pot with drainage holes. I have them in seed starting trays & will move them once ready to transplant.

Anyone know how many seeds I'll be able to fit comfortably in a pot with those dimensions? And will I need some sort of trellis or stake?

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: How Many Edamame Plants Per Container?

Edaname? Isn't that an Asian dish made with immature soybeans? If we're on the same page, then I'm having trouble imagining how you plan to grow soybeans in such a small pot. It has a taproot plus lots of other roots. It grows down to 4-8 feet deep and out to 15 inches or more. That's going to be one sad little soybean plant in such a small container.

I have to be missing something here. I never heard of someone trying to grow soybeans in containers. I'm not saying it's impossible. (I read I wasn't supposed to be able to grow pumpkins in containers either, but only after growing them. lol) But, either there is another meaning for edamame then what I know, or you'll need to learn more about growing soybeans before committing your seedlings into that container.

o
RE: How Many Edamame Plants Per Container?

My mistake, the pot I plan to use is 10-1/4"H x 12"W.

The only other info I've found of anyone else growing edamame in containers is this person:

http://kitewrite.wordpress.com/2009/04/21/growing-soybeans-edamame-in-containers/

in which she states "an 8″ pot can easily hold 6 plants" although there aren't any visuals to help me picture it.

there is also this youtube link by growing wisdom but they plant theirs outdoors:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=heVDK4nygZE